The DEADLINE for Seaford applications is April 16, 2021.
The recruitment, selection, employment and training of Apprentices during their apprenticeship shall be without discrimination based upon political or religious opinion or affiliation, marital status, race, color, creed, national origin, sex or age, unless sex or age constitutes a bona fide occupational qualification, or the physical or mental disability of a qualified individual with a disability. The Sponsor will take affirmative action to provide equal opportunity in apprenticeship and will operate the apprenticeship program as required under Maryland regulation 09.12.42 and 29 CFR 30.
No experience is necessary in our field to apply.
After you complete your application a *non-refundable processing fee of $75.00 is required, payable by credit card or money order only, this fee will also cover your background check. You will also need to provide an official photo ID.
You will be asked to provide a sealed copy of your high school transcript and provide your certified birth certificate(to be copied) after you pass the math test, BUT it is recommended that if possible, you bring your sealed high school transcript and your certified birth certificate to the math test.
A calculator will be supplied to you when taking our Math test.
You will be required to attend school 2 nights a week from 5:30 P.M. to 8:30 P.M. and the first Saturday of every month – a minimum of 250 hours of school per year.
You must have a valid driver’s license and your own transportation – our jurisdiction goes through most of Maryland and the shore, Morgan, Berkeley & Jefferson counties in West Virginia and Sussex County in Delaware.
You will be required to obtain MD. Plumber and MD HVACR apprentice licenses. If you have been convicted of a felony, it could prohibit you from obtaining these licenses. These licenses must be maintained during the apprenticeship.
You must be eligible to work in the United States and will be required to pass a security check.
A work day will consist of 8 hours of construction work for one of our Union contractors. We will dispatch you to our contractors as needed. Some work will be outside.
Jobs may require working overtime and on weekends.
Overtime is time and one half. 5 paid Holidays per year. No sick leave or vacation. 8 hours pay for 8 hours work.
Delaware Industrial Delaware Region Rates (Commercial)
Journeyman Rate: $41.92 Journeyman Rate $28.68
● 1st yr. apprentice – 40% of Journeyman scale – $16.77 per hr. ● 1st yr. apprentice – 50% of Journeyman scale – $14.34 per hr.
● 2nd yr. apprentice – 50% of Journeyman scale – $20.96 per hr. ● 2nd yr. apprentice – 50% of Journeyman scale – $14.34 per hr.
● 3rd yr. apprentice – 60% of Journeyman scale – $25.15 per hr. ● 3rd yr. apprentice – 60% of Journeyman scale – $17.21 per hr.
● 4th yr. apprentice – 70% of Journeyman scale – $29.34per hr. ● 4th yr. apprentice – 70% of Journeyman scale – $20.08 per hr.
● 5th yr. apprentice – 80% of Journeyman scale – $33.54 per hr. ● 5th yr. apprentice – 80% of Journeyman scale – $22.94 per hr.
1st year apprentices start at $16.77 per hour, so $1677 X 40 = $670.80 in your pocket (minus taxes). Your benefits, as stated below, are paid for you after you work 250 hours as an apprentice.
A pension, optional 401(k), and medical for you and your family are provided after your initial 250 hours of work. Dental plan, prescription card, and annuity are available when you reach your 2nd year apprentice status.
Union dues are currently $31.00 per month.
If selected, you will receive an Apprentice Scholarship for your training. You will, however, be responsible to pay for your own books. Books run approximately $440.00 the first year, and average about $350.00 for years 2 – 5. Pre-payment of books are due at the start of each school year.
You will be required to sign a Scholarship Loan Agreement if you are selected. (Scholarship Loan Agreement furnished upon request)
Class failure or chronic absenteeism from either work or school can result in self-elimination from the program. You will be required to make up any missed school time.
The Plumbers and Steamfitters Local 486 Training School is a 501(c)(3) organization regulated by the federal government. Although medical marijuana may be permitted by the laws of the State of Delaware (under the Delaware Medical Marijuana Act), it is considered a Schedule I controlled substance, illegal under the federal law that governs the JATC. Therefore, a medical marijuana card does not excuse you from passing the JATC’s drug test, which requires less than 100 ng/ml of marijuana metabolite on the initial screen, and less than 20 ng/ml on the confirmation test to pass.
Before you apply – Seaford Delaware firstname.lastname@example.org 2021-02-09T16:58:20-05:00